About Us

Opportunity School is a 52 year old school providing education to the underprivileged children living in and around IIT Kanpur campus. It came into existence because the children of people working as domestic help had no hope of getting education. It has progressed from 6 students and a Type-2 house to about 300 students and a block in Kendriya Vidyalaya.

Education to the underprivileged children is the only way to brighten their future through self-empowerment. And it is also the best way to eradicate child labour from society. The school has been functioning all these years by adhering to the principles of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan. We try to help our children acquire skills, habits, and attitude to adjust well in the society.

At present the school runs classes from 1 to 8 and is recognized by the UP Board of Education. We are trying to go up to class 10 as many children, especially girls, drop out of school after class 8 because their parents are not prepared to send them to expensive schools outside the campus.

We have also started identifying individual talent and providing opportunity to hone them by inviting specialized teachers for dance, art, jewellery making, quilling, mehendi application.

Our students have also started acquiring computer skills, using an interactive science lab, and learning book craft and home science.


Card image cap
Prof. Abhay Karandikar

Director IIT Kanpur

Card image cap
Prof. Manindra Aggarawal

Deputy Director IIT Kanpur

Card image cap
Prof. Nachiketa Tiwari

Chairman Opportunity School

Card image cap
Dr.Chetna Mishra

Principal Opportunity School

Latest Events

Card image cap

Independence day ceremony

Card image cap

Poem Competition

Card image cap

Hindi Essay Competition

Card image cap

Dance Competition

Card image cap

Cooking Competition

Card image cap

Rakhi Competition


Back To Top
乐盈彩票 炎陵县| 高邮市| 永定县| 阿拉善左旗| 黔西| 个旧市| 五莲县| 盐源县| 宁津县| 屏南县| 炉霍县| 白水县| 阳泉市| 福贡县| 胶州市| 龙门县| 柳州市| 中阳县| 东莞市| 无棣县| 射洪县| 邯郸市| 衡山县| 博罗县| 黑水县| 江华| 孝感市| 乌苏市| 三台县| 黔东| 黄浦区| 衡水市| 安多县| 即墨市| 洞口县| 宁安市| 科技| 荣成市| 柯坪县| 安西县| 南和县|